NatWest T20 Blast

The Competition:

Twenty20 cricket is the shortest and most high-octane form of the game. If it’s 6-hitting you’re after, this is for you!

In 2014, all 18 counties that will compete in the NatWest T20 Blast are split into two groups of nine. Each county plays six other teams in their group home and away and two teams just once. The top four teams in each group will progress to the Quarter-Finals and compete for a place at the inaugural T20 Finals Day

With only 20 overs (and just over an hour) to rack up the highest score you can, expect to see batsmen sweeping, slogging and smashing anything that comes their way – and plenty of wickets tumbling as a result!

In this tournament all teams are allowed to name two overseas stars in any one side (only one is allowed in the other formats) so this is where the big names come to show their skills!

Hampshire’s Record:

Hampshire have become the team to beat in this competition in recent years, reaching four successive Finals Days between 2010 and 2013, winning two of them. 

In 2010, they created history by becoming the first British side to win the competition on home turf and that was followed by a  beating of Yorkshire Carnegie in a final-over thriller at the SWALEC Stadium in Cardiff in 2012.

In 2013, Hampshire were the best team in the country through the group stages and beat Lancashire in a 400+ run-fest of a Quarter Final at The Ageas Bowl. Sadly, they then lost to Surrey in the final four.

2014 Opposition:

Hampshire have been placed in the South Group with Surrey, Gloucestershire, Essex, Middlesex, Somerset, Glamorgan, Kent and Sussex. As stated above, the new competition rules mean Hampshire only play Surrey (away) & Gloucestershire (home) once with every other team twice.  

        2013 Table*          

2013 Player Averages*

2014 Fixtures

Buy Tickets

*2014 information not yet available