Buy Tickets

Hampshire To Host Five ICC World Cup Matches In 2019

The ICC Cricket World Cup returns to Hampshire for the first time in 20 years with five fixtures announced for next year's competition

It has today been confirmed that five ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 fixtures will be played in Hampshire as the tournament returns to England and Wales next year.

The five matches will see England, South Africa, India, West Indies, Bangladesh and Afghanistan all compete at the 'Hampshire Bowl', with matches held at the venue between Wednesday 5th June and Monday 24th June.

South Africa will take on the India in the first match on Wednesday 5th June, while South Africa then play West Indies in the third group game on Monday 10th June.

England then arrive on Friday 14th June to play the West Indies, before the venue hosts India and Afghanistan on Saturday 22nd June. The final group game will see Bangladesh take on Afghanistan on Monday 24th June.

We are extremely proud to be one of the host venues for the Cricket World Cup next year. We have been allocated five fantastic fixtures which give us the opportunity to welcome fans from around the world to support their team and experience the unique atmosphere that this tournament is sure to generate. We will ensure they are given the warmest of welcomes.

David Mann, Hampshire Cricket Chief Executive Officer

We are extremely proud to have the prestigious Hampshire Bowl in the Borough of Eastleigh and I’m sure cricket fans from around the world will have a fantastic time, watching some great matches when they visit our Borough next summer.

Cllr Mo Sollitt, Mayor of Eastleigh

In total, 11 venues will be used for the 12th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup. Lord’s and The Oval will be used in London, in addition to Edgbaston, Old Trafford, Bristol County Ground, Cardiff Wales Stadium, The Riverside, Headingley, Trent Bridge, The County Ground, Taunton and the Hampshire Bowl.

The ECB was awarded the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in 2006 following its withdrawal from the bidding to host the 2015 World Cup. This is the first time that a ICC Cricket World Cup has been held in the UK since 1999. ECB hosted the first three ICC Cricket World Cup tournaments in 1975, 1979 and 1983.

The tournament will culminate in a record fifth final at a packed Lord’s Cricket Ground - the Home of Cricket – on 14 July 2019.

Edgbaston and Old Trafford will host semi-finals on 9 and 11 July, respectively and Old Trafford will host a much-anticipated fixture between India and Pakistan on 16th June.

Today’s announcement of the schedule is another important moment in the build-up to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 – the moment that the tournament comes to life for teams and cricket lovers across the world. This is the flagship event in one day cricket.

Steve Elworthy, ECB Tournament Director

Fans will have the opportunity to be the first to apply for tickets during the Cricket Family Ballot, which opens at 10AM on Tuesday 8th May.

Members of the Cricket Family can pre-register their accounts from Tuesday 1st May in preparation for the ballot, which will remain open until 8pm on Friday 1 June.

Those eligible for the Cricket Family Ballot will receive a specific URL via email in the coming few days.

Cricket Family Ballot Registration

Details about hospitality packages will be released later this summer on

All News